Northern Ireland Executive Agreement

At the end of the fifth round of negotiations, the parties agreed on an agreement that should serve as the basis for a restored executive. The New Decade, New Approach agreement[1] was jointly published by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland and the Irish Prime Minister. The Northern Ireland Executive is composed of the Prime Minister and Deputy Ministers, as well as various ministers with specific portfolios and functions. The main parties in the Assembly appoint most ministers to the executive, with the exception of the Minister of Justice, elected by an inter-communal vote. It is one of three decified governments in the United Kingdom, the other the Scottish Government and the Welsh Government. Indeed, the major parties cannot be excluded from participation in government, and power-sharing is imposed by the system. The form of government is therefore referred to as a mandatory coalition, unlike a voluntary coalition in which the parties negotiate a power-sharing agreement. The Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP), the Alliance Party of Northern Ireland and some members of the Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP) are in favour of a longer-term move towards a voluntary coalition, but Sinn Féin opposes it for now. [Citation required] The members of the executive were elected on 11 January 2020, Brexit will be the first priority of a new executive which, on the basis of the joint letter of August 2016, will commit to a result. Extend the executive training period to six weeks and require the Secretary of State to declare an election if there is no executive for 24 weeks.

New duty for the public service to serve the executive as a whole. The Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise of Functions) Act 2019 was passed by the British Parliament on 10 July 2019[45] and came into force on 24 July. [46] The main purpose of the act was to prevent a new election and to operate Northern Ireland`s services without a functioning de-de primary government. However, two Labour MPs, Conor McGinn and Stella Creasy, added amendments that would legalise same-sex marriage and liberalise the right to abortion (both dechrased issues) if the DUP and Sinn Féin fail to reach an agreement by 21 October. [45] But there are also a number of specific proposals to improve the sustainability of the executive, which has collapsed several times since the introduction of power-sharing after the Good Friday/Belfast Convention agreement in 1999.